Our school opened its doors in 1962 and was named after Mary Ellen Cunningham, a kind and caring teacher in Central Texas during the late 1800s, retiring from Austin ISD in 1942. Cunningham has a rich history of academic success and community involvement. Our building has grown with additions and updates over the decades as the neighborhood and student needs increased. Our most recent repairs have just been completed after September flood damage during the torrential Austin rains from Hurricane Hermine off the coast of Texas. We started the 2011-12 school year in a beautiful newly updated building! And, we just celebrated our 50th anniversary in 2012-13! Long live Cunningham!
Click the link below to visit the Cunningham Elementary website. Thanks!